Buynewone.com Scam Update

So BuyNewOne.com continues to scam people. I am posting another story I received this weekend after my first post.

I came across your site when I was researching buynewone.com (AKA shipyoufree.com). I purchased an 8 GB nano yesterday and admit I was foolishly taken in by the low price and didn't research the company before buying- a mistake I regret and have learned from given all the shady talk (fatwallet.com) I've read about the company. It has been 24 hours since I ordered it and my credit card has not been charged yet. Still I am planning on canceling my credit card like you and others have suggested. I was wondering if you had any further information to share about your findings with the company or if I can be of help in your search and keep you posted on what happens with my order. I would love to hear if you know anything more. I'm angry I got taken in by what appears to be a scam and don't want to put this to rest before I get more information. Thanks for your time.

This person was also nice enough to email an update today.

This probable scam of some sort has progressed so far in a manner similar to that of your friend. I just got a confirmation email from Apple thanking me for my recent purchase complete with an order number. When I looked up my supposed order from Apple.com it included two odd pieces of information: the phone number they have on record as my home phone was incorrect (different from the number I gave buynewone.com) and the payment method was listed as American Express, a card which I don't even own. It gave the last four digits of the card number and said I paid $199 plus tax, for a total amount of roughly $215. I just checked my bank account again and nothing has been charged to me, either from buynewone.com or apple.com. (I cancelled my credit card at the end of last week after I read about their suspicious behavior.)

I don't know if you read the thread of conversation about this topic on fatwallet.com (which I encourage you to do if you're interested in investigating this further), but there are three or four addresses listed for the company scattered around the country.

When I logged on to Apple.com to find out what information they had listed for me I found something else disconcerting. Buynewone had created an online member account to apple.com for me using my email address and a password which I obviously didn't have access to. I have never visited that site before and am certain I never created an account under my email address or anything else for that matter. Obviously I immediately changed the password since only buynewone had it. I'm not very computer savvy, but could this be part of the scam? That is to say, could this be part of whatever their scam is? Also, since I now have access to whatever credit card number that they used in purchasing my iPod from the Apple store, could it be helpful in finding out more about them? (I could contact Apple and get the full credit card information they were given by buynewone on behalf of me).


I know most tech savy folks would never fall for this scam but there are a lot of people out there who do not realize the dangers of using the web. The iPod is so hot right now and people just lose their heads. As a guy with a web site I just feel a need to put this out there. Please feel free to share your experiences here.

I was just trying to find

I was just trying to find buynewone.com's website and can't find it. I ordered an ipod nano on 3/26 and received it about 10 days later. All good. Interesting to see the comments here. I guess I'll settle for being lucky.

Somthing I would like to

Somthing I would like to add, I noticed that when you are on the page filling out the order form, the page is not encrypted to protect you personal data for being seen over the internet, BIG RED FLAG!!!